728 x 90

Misko is new chair of MVSD


There is a new face at the head of the Mountain View School Division (MVSD) board table.
Leifa Misko was declared board chair by acclamation, after former board chair Della Perih and trustee Cam Abrey declined nomination.
“I hope I can do as well as trustee Perih did and trustee Martens,” Misko said to board members.
“I hope I represent you as best I can. Thank you for your confidence.”
Abrey was elected vice-chair, replacing Misko. He, too, thanked trustees for their support and Perih for her leadership.
Perih served as board chair for four years, as vice-chair for four years prior and as trustee for four years before then.
After the meeting, Perih explained she was ready to step away from the role of chair and knew Misko was ready and able to take it on.
Looking back, Perih noted several milestones in her time as chair, such as the development of a middle school for Grades 6 to 8 in Dauphin.
“That has been an exciting project,” she said.
Being on the executive of the Manitoba School Boards Association for a couple of years, Perih noted, was an interesting experience, as well.
In reference to the governance issues MVSD has tackled, Perih feels the board has reshaped and redefined itself over the years and is leading MVSD in a positive direction.
“And we’re a good, solid-working team, so I’m happy with the way that’s gone,” she added.
Perih expressed thanks to trustees for their support over the years, adding she looks forward to the opportunity to continue to work around the board table.
As Misko took the chair, the first order of business was to approve the current board committee structure.
As a result, the finance and policy committees continue to be represented by the full board
Trustee Scott McCallum is chair of the community relations committee, with Cathy Cyr as vice-chair and trustees, Michelle Kaminski and Perih.
The board development chair is Jim Dingwall, with Tannis Murray as vice-chair, plus Abrey and trustee Floyd Martens.
Perih chairs the Mountain View Teachers Association negotiations committee with vice-chair Abrey, Kaminski and Dingwall.
The CUPE/Non/Union negotiation committee is Martens as chair, Murray as vice-chair, plus Cyr and McCallum.
Martens is the trustee representative for the workplace safety and health committee.
Trustees also approved its current regular board meeting structure of the second and fourth Mondays at 7 p.m., continuing to 10 p.m. with an option to extend for 15 minutes. In camera commences at 6:30 p.m.
Trustees approved a zero per cent increase for trustee indemnity rates for the 2017-18 school year.
As a result, the base indemnity for trustees remains at $9,584.18. The board chair indemnity remains at $1,800 and the vice-chair indemnity stays at $750.
The annual travel indemnity per return mileage remains unchanged at $11 from home to the administration office and there were no changes for the meal allowance of $35 per day without receipts.
Trustee conference and out-of-division per diem has also not changed, remaining at $143 per day for 2017-18.

M. A. Nyquist