728 x 90

Election results from across the Parkland


Parkland residents awoke, Oct. 25, to the beginning of a new term in municipal politics. Following the vote in municipalities across the region, elected councils boasted a nice mix of continuity and new members.
Results from across the region follow:
Gilbert Plains
In the Gilbert Plains Municipality, Blake Price was returned as Mayor with 43.49 per cent of votes cast, downing challengers James Michaluk with 40.23 per cent of the vote and Dwayne Sydor with 16.29 per cent.
Forming council at large are incumbents Lyall Bates, James Manchur, Craig Von Bargen, Bryan Gallaway and Jerry Sherman. They will be joined by newcomer Ryan Paziuk.
Failing to earn a seat were incumbent Sharon Basaraba, Alvin Dykun, Steven Perih, Angela Kruk and Andrew Rosolowsky.
Mossey River
In the Mossy River Municipality, Ron Kostyshyn is the new head of council garnering 403 votes to defeat incumbent Kate Basford (118 votes) and Cameron Peterson (63 votes).
Earning council seats from the Rural Ward were newcomer Barry Heppner (214 votes) and incumbents Larry Pascal (153 votes) and John Devos (142 votes) while Bob Bileski, Wayne Lytwyn, Angela Stefishen and incumbent Richard Kolochuk were left on the outside looking in.
In the Urban Ward incumbent Reynold Sahulka will be joined by newcomers Angel Johnson and Ivan Fleming. Failing to earn a seat were incumbent Lawrence Wright and Lyle Brown.
In a tight race for head of council, Arlene Rehaluk defeated Ken Shewchuk in the Municipality of Ethelbert by a margin of 211 votes to 185.
At the council table, incumbent Larry Dudar will be joined by newcomers Mitch Michaluk, Michael Goy and Kevin Boese.
Failing to earn a council seat were Albert Strikiwski, Dave Semeniuk, Rita Chymy and Walter Lylyk.
In the RM of Lakeshore, voters were needed to choose the Reeve and one councillor from Ward 5.
In the race for Reeve, challenger Carmen Hannibal defeated incumbent Clinton Cleave, 328 votes to 292, respectively.
In the Ward 5 race Larry Artibise, with 106 votes, defeated incumbent Clayton Watts with 46 votes and Timothy Jury with 29 votes.
Making up the remainder of council is Walter Tymchuk, who was acclaimed in Ward 1, Ernest Smadella, who was acclaimed in Ward 2, Richard Kachur, who was acclaimed in Ward 3, Richard Shankaruk, who was acclaimed in Ward 4, Gavin Thompson, who was acclaimed in Ward 6, Michael Brunen, who was acclaimed in Ward 7, and Jean Geisel, who was acclaimed in Ward 8.
Ste. Rose
Robert Brunel was uncontested in his return to the mayor’s chair in the Municipality of Ste. Rose.
He will be joined at the council table by incumbents Ivan Worrall and Noel Labelle and newly-elected councillors Steven Hopfner and Shari Shankaruk.
Failing to earn a seat on council was Karen Bouchard, Gilbert Soucy, Darrel Deslauriers and incumbent Alain Ingelbeen.
The Municipality of McCreary has a new Reeve after Mike Gawaziuk received 251 votes to defeat Allan Whyte with 153 votes, incumbent Larry McLauchlan with 103 votes and David Thompson with 12 votes.
Newcomers Donna Duggan, Craig Terrick and John Graves will be joined on council by incumbent Shawn Buchanan, while incumbents Coreen Roy and Linda Cripps failed to retain their seats.
In the Rural Municipality of Alonsa voters were asked to choose a head of council and representatives in three wards to join acclaimed councillors William Cabak, Stan Fashoway and Harry Harris in the LUD of Alonsa, Eldon Campbell in Ward 2, Edward Waczko in Ward 3 and Logan Dumanske in Ward 6.
In the race for head of council, Stan Asham, with 293 votes, was returned as Reeve over James Bruce with 200 votes and Michael Espenell with 43 votes.
In Ward 1, Colin Mailman received 83.36 per cent of votes cast to turn aside challenger Rhonna Rodriguez.
In Ward 4, Michael Brown garnered 82 votes to earn a council seat over Gordon Dubois with 34 votes.
In Ward 5, incumbent Terry Dayholos received 42 votes to narrowly defeat challenger Jonathan Clarke with 34 votes.