728 x 90

Mazier wins quickly, convincingly


It did not take long for Dan Mazier to be declared the new Member of Parliament for Dauphin-Swan River- Neepawa on election night.
Less than one hour after the polls closed the Conservative candidate’s ticket to Ottawa was punched.
Mazier will join 120 of his party peers in opposition to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s minority Liberal government.
When the ballots were counted, Mazier received 24,942 votes compared to 5,404 for NDP candidate Laverne Lewycky, 5,103 for Liberal Cathy Scofield-Singh, 2,090 for Green Party candidate Kate Storey, 700 for Frank Godon of the People’s Party of Canada and 447 for the Christian Heritage Party’s Jenni Johnson.
“Here in Manitoba, and here in our riding, it sends a very strong message that we’re Conservative,” Mazier said.
The Liberal Party ended the tightly contested election with 157 seats compared to the Conservative’s 121, the Bloc Quebecois’ 32, the NDP’s 24 and the Green Party’s three seats. Former Justice Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould won the riding of Vancouver Granville as the only independent candidate elected.
“We all want safer communities, a clean planet and a good quality of life. We want this for ourselves, for our neighbours, for our kids and our grandkids. We seek hardship for none and prosperity for all. That is the world we’re working toward and, if we unite around these common goals, I know we can achieve them,” Trudeau said in his victory speech.
“To those who did not vote for us, know that we will work every single day for you, we will govern for everyone. Regardless of how you cast your ballot, ours is a team that will fight for all Canadians . . . To Canadians in Alberta and Saskatchewan — know that you are an essential part of our great country. I have heard your frustration and I want to be there to support you. Let us all work hard to bring our country together.”