728 x 90

Winners Announced For Manitoba Vaccine Lottery


The Manitoba Government announced their first round of winners in the province's Vaccine Lottery on Tuesday.

The following individuals have each won a prize of $100,000:
• Kerry Maskiew, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA);
• Garth Deleske, WRHA;
• Trent Fingler, WRHA;
• Jacqueline Martel, Southern Health–Santé Sud health region;
• John Lyons, Prairie Mountain Health region;
• Dustin McDuffe, Interlake–Eastern Regional Health Authority; and
• Bernell Lavallee, Northern Health Region.

The 10 winners of $25,000 scholarships have also been drawn and will be announced soon.

There will be a second draw next month for all eligible Manitobans who received both doses of the vaccine on or before Sept. 6. Manitobans are automatically entered into the draw when they receive the vaccine. However, there is an option to opt out of the lottery.

 As of Aug. 16, 80.9% of eligible Manitobans have received at least one dose of the vaccine and 74.3 per cent have received both doses.


Staff Writer